Do you hear what I hear?

By Blogger Linda Ross

What is so captivating about a Christmas carol written 50 years ago that would result decades later in hundreds of artists recording renditions, even finding it available as a ring tone for your cell phone? This year as I began listening to holiday music on a dedicated cable station, on my car radio, and even on a new CD just released last month – each included the song “Do you hear what I hear” as a selection.

Intrigued by why it stood out to me, I looked up the lyrics.  They review the Christmas story somewhat, but also touch on key elements of prayer that can result in hope and healthier lives. I pondered a passage from the beginning of the Bible, “And God saw everything that he created and behold, it was very good.”

Then I thought of the 3 questions posed in the lyrics from that standpoint of goodness and beginning prayer:  Do you see what I see? Do you hear what I hear? Do you know what I know?  In other words, am I seeing/hearing/knowing the good (as God created) in myself and those around me?  What a wonderful gift that can be!

For brevity, I’ll share only the last stanza of the carol.  Enjoy:

“Said the king to the people everywhere
Listen to what I say
Pray for peace people everywhere
Listen to what I say
The child, the child
Sleeping in the night
He will bring us goodness and light
He will bring us goodness and light”

Linda Ross is a Christian Science Practitioner living in Connecticut.

3 responses to “Do you hear what I hear?

  1. Lovely!!
    Thanks for the focus on the really important “stuff” at this time of year!

  2. Beautiful thoughts, Linda, Thanks!

  3. Very nicely put. Thanks Linda for your vision.

Leave a Reply

