Remembering Haiti one year after quake

A young boy smiles in Haiti/Tracy Simmons - CreedibleOne year ago today Haiti was rattled with a 35-second earthquake that the country still hasn't healed from. In one year, things have gotten worse, not better. I was there five weeks after the earthquake and couldn't believe the destruction that I saw. But what moved me the most were the people. They smiled and kept their spirits up, even though they lost loved ones, even though they lost their homes.

You can read about my first trip to Haiti here.

Then, in December, I went back. Now Haitians aren't only fighting homelessness and grief, their fighting cholera and election riots. Maybe for some life has gotten better in Haiti, but for most it's gotten worse. I was able to find a pocket of joy in Haiti though, at Ecole Le Bon Samaritain. You can about my second trip here.

Read full post here.

Leave a Reply

