Visiting a Saraswati Puja

Saraswati Puja held at Wesleyan/Tracy Simmons - CreedibleMIDDLETOWN — Saraswati is the Hindu goddess of knowledge, music and the arts. I don’t play any instruments, but I wish I would have brought some of my writing manuscripts with me on Sunday when, for the first time, I attended a Saraswati Puja.

Per tradition, the puja concluded the annual Navratri Festival at Wesleyan University. The festival is one of the most celebrated festivals of the Hindu calendar – though different regions celebrate it at different times of the year.

I was the first one to arrive at the ceremony. Not sure if I was at the right door at World Music Hall, I hesitated to come in until I heard a kind voice invite me inside. I slipped off my shoes, introduced myself and took a seat.

Read full post here.

View more photos here.

Leave a Reply

